The MyHealthyCommunities website is closing on 30 June 2019

Don’t worry – you can still find the latest information about your local area on the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare’s (AIHW)External link, opens in a new window.[] website, along with many more reports and data on a range of health and welfare topics.

Visit the Healthy community indicatorsExternal link, opens in a new window.[] page to use the new interactive tool to explore health topics including health risk factors, cancer, expenditure, and different population groups in your Primary Health Network (PHN) area.

In some cases, the way you find information has changed. If you need help finding anything, please contactExternal link, opens in a new window.[] the AIHW.

Once the MyHealthyCommunities website closes, you will be able to access an archived version through TroveExternal link, opens in a new window.[], the National Library of Australia’sExternal link, opens in a new window.[] web archive. Please note the interactive content will not work in the archived version.

Far North Qld

ReportingUnitTypeName.MedicareLocal.LongDescription() map

The following is a Google map image showing the Medicare Local boundary for this particular Medicare Local.
Please wait for the map to load.

This Medicare Local catchment is:
Far North Qld

View related geographies

Major cities/towns located within this Medicare Local catchment:

  • Atherton
  • Aurukun
  • Babinda
  • Badu Island
  • Bamaga
  • Belvedere
  • Bingil Bay
  • Boigu Island
  • Cairns
  • Carmoo
  • Chillagoe
  • Coconuts
  • Coen
  • Cooktown
  • Cooya Beach
  • Daintree
  • Dimbulah
  • El Arish
  • Erub (Darnley) Island
  • Flying Fish Point
  • Georgetown
  • Goldsborough
  • Gordonvale
  • Hammond Island
  • Herberton
  • Hope Vale
  • Horn Island
  • Iama (Yam) Island
  • Injinoo
  • Innisfail
  • Kowanyama
  • Kuranda
  • Kurrimine Beach
  • Lockhart River
  • Mabuiag Island
  • Malanda
  • Mapoon
  • Mareeba
  • Mareeba - South
  • Mer (Murray) Island
  • Millaa Millaa
  • Mirriwinni
  • Mission Beach
  • Mossman
  • Mount Garnet
  • Mourilyan
  • Napranum
  • New Mapoon
  • Newell
  • Oak Beach
  • Pormpuraaw
  • Port Douglas - Craiglie
  • Ravenshoe
  • Saibai Island
  • Seisia
  • South Johnstone
  • South Mission Beach
  • St Pauls
  • Tarzali
  • Thursday Island
  • Tinaroo
  • Tolga
  • Tolga - West
  • Tully
  • Tully Heads
  • Umagico
  • Walkamin
  • Wangan
  • Warraber Island
  • Weipa
  • Wonga Beach
  • Wongaling Beach
  • Wujal Wujal
  • Yarrabah
  • Yorke Island
  • Yungaburra

Public hospitals located within this Medicare Local catchment:

Find out about health services in Far North Queensland

This page shows detailed health information for this local area, the boundaries of which are shown in the map above. It is defined by the geographic catchment for which this Medicare Local was responsible until mid-2015. You may also have the option to view data by smaller geographies, such as local areas (SA3), if it is available for the measure you are viewing. The different geographies and years of data are available to select from the drop-down menus below for each measure.

Medicare Locals were replaced by Primary Health Networks in mid-2015. Primary Health Network area data will be updated as soon as practical after they become available. Medicare Local catchment data has been retained for reference purposes.

To more fairly compare health areas, Medicare Locals may be grouped into one of a number of peer groups, based on remoteness, socioeconomic status and distance to hospitals. For more information on Medicare Locals or on peer groups refer to the Glossary.

GP-patient care (BEACH)

How to use this page